The Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Festival





The Ferruccio Busoni International Piano Festival was made a biennial event in 2002 in order to underline and strengthen the basic themes of the competition and to showcase well-known former winners of the Busoni Prize such as Marta Argerich, Liliya Zilberstein, Arnaldo Cohen, Boris Bloch and Ursula Oppens, as well as more recent winners such as Anna Kravtchenko, Alexander Kobrin, Giuseppe Andaloro, and many more. Great names on the international concert circuit such as Alfred Brendel, Arcadi Volodos, Valery Afanassiev, Richerd Goode and Marc-André Hamelin have also enriched the festival with their presence. Winners of other important international competitions are regularly invited to the festival. Another goal of the festival is to communicate and celebrate the enormous musical and intellectual contribution that Ferruccio Busoni gave to the music of his day.